Handling multiple grants, tracking usage, adding/removing users from a grant, renewing or extending grants
Adding or removing users from an XSEDE grant is done through the XSEDE User Portal.
For instructions, see https://portal.xsede.org/allocations/managing
Currently there are two ways to add an allocation manager, and also two separate “definitions” of an allocation manager.
The first allocation manager is designated when the proposal is submitted. This allocation manager will have the same permissions as the PI/co-PI: they can submit supplements, transfers, extensions, renewals, etc. and also add or remove users on the allocation.
The second type of allocation manager can be designated at any time.
This allocation manager will only be able to add or remove users. They will not have the permissions to make actions (supplements, transfers, extensions, etc.) on the allocation.
Your PSC password and your XSEDE password are not connected. Resetting one does not change the other.
To reset your PSC password:
You have 15 minutes to complete the process or you will have to start over.
To reset your XSEDE password:
Your proposal number can be found on the confirmation email you received after you submitted a proposal. If you cannot locate this email, you can login to the XSEDE Portal at portal.xsede.org and click on “Allocations/Usage” under the “My XSEDE” tab. The proposal number will be listed next to the title of the allocation. Please note that if your allocation is still under review, you will not be able to find this information here.
To check the balance of your allocation, login to the XSEDE Portal (portal.xsede.org) and click on “Allocations/Usage” under the “My XSEDE” tab. The next screen will display the allocations you have access to, along with current usage and end dates.
Your files are retained for 3 months after your grant expires. Once the 3 month grace period is over, they are deleted.
You will be able to log in during the grace period so that you can transfer your files elsewhere, but you will not be able to submit jobs or create new files.
If you would like more SUs to complete your project, you can request a supplement.
To submit a supplement request to your startup, research, or educational allocation,:
Please note that the option for submitting a supplement will not be available if less than 30 days remain on the allocation.
If you need more time to complete your project, you can request a calendar extension.
To submit an extension request to your startup, research, or educational allocation:
Please note this option is only available when 90 days or less remains on the allocation. You will have the option to submit an extension of 3 or 6 months.
Yes, an allocation can be renewed, pending a review of the progress made.
To submit a renewal for a Bridges startup allocation:
Please note the option for startup renewal will not be available until 30 days or less remains on the allocation. A progress report will be required, in addition to the other mandatory documents.
Renewal proposals for research allocations are only accepted during quarterly submission windows (see the submission schedule here: https://portal.xsede.org/allocations/research#schedule). Your renewal proposal is due during the same window in which you submitted in the previous year.
To start the renewal submission:
Please note that a progress report will be required, in addition to the other mandatory documents. You must also attach at least one publication to the submission.
To submit a transfer request:
Once your allocation is approved, you will receive a confirmation message in email. In this message there will be a dollar value listed for the amount of XSEDE resources that you have been allocated. On average, 1 service unit (SU) is roughly equivalent to 7 cents.
There are two parameters to consider for charging jobs:
See "Managing multiple grants" in the Account Admininstration section of the Bridges User Guide for information on determing your default SLURM account id and Unix group, and changing them either permanently or temporarily, for just one job or login session.